9th Annual Skidmore VFD Cook Off

September 30, 2022 - October 1, 2022
State Championship
JPA Kids Que $25 There will be a meat inspection upon arrival.

Contest Details

9th Annual Skidmore VFD Cook Off
IBCA Contest Number: 2023-85

423 E Refugio St
Skidmore, TX 78389
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Rose Simola
Tray Pickup: Friday
Cooks Meeting: Friday at 6:00

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket



Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Margaritas 25 7:30
Chefs Choice 25 8:30

Saturday Ancillaries

Beans 25 10:00
Dessert 25 11:00

Contact and Registration

Contact: Sara Trevino


Entry Fee: 200

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Rose Simola
Number of Teams: 35

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

IRA Green / Flying G Barbcue

Reserve Grand Champion

Leroy Barrera Jr / DIG IN BBQ

Brisket: Caleb Warden / Kickin Kajun Smokehouse
Chicken: BF Flores / Flores BBQ
Pork Spare Ribs: Leroy Barrera Jr / DIG IN BBQ


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1IRA GreenFlying G Barbcue549.14
2Leroy Barrera JrDIG IN BBQ540.52
3Justin FloresFamily Grillers532.06
4Grady SpeedGrade A BBQ529.34
5Caleb WardenKickin Kajun Smokehouse520.28
6Michael Gibson JrRepeat Offenders BBQ513.34
7Keith KniselyLazy Dillo Smokers508.98
9BF FloresFlores BBQ501.56
10Roger HernandezTexas Country Smokers499.96


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1BF FloresFlores BBQ189.22
2Caleb WardenKickin Kajun Smokehouse183.92
3Danny NaranjoLucky Horse shoe181.94
4Michael Gibson JrRepeat Offenders BBQ180.22
5Eddie Encinia SrSmokin Pit Crew179.0
6IRA GreenFlying G Barbcue177.74
7John (Fritz) ScottenSmoke “N” Wagon174.86
8Martin SilvaTexas Grill Master173.48
9Leroy Barrera JrDIG IN BBQ171.74
10Grady SpeedGrade A BBQ170.42

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Leroy Barrera JrDIG IN BBQ201.0
2Justin FloresFamily Grillers193.0
3IRA GreenFlying G Barbcue188.2
4Freddy Arismendez4 Aces187.66
5Ryan JimenezSmoke Benders185.2
6Roger HernandezTexas Country Smokers184.74
7Michael Gibson JrRepeat Offenders BBQ184.54
8Keith KniselyLazy Dillo Smokers184.28
9Juan GutierrezRanch House BBQ180.12
10Le Roy MartinezEl Toro Pesado179.94


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Caleb WardenKickin Kajun Smokehouse196.8
2IRA GreenFlying G Barbcue183.2
3Grady SpeedGrade A BBQ183.18
4Roger HernandezTexas Country Smokers177.4
5BF FloresFlores BBQ176.86
6Justin FloresFamily Grillers175.26
7Blake PylesBeach Bum BBQ171.72
8Keith KniselyLazy Dillo Smokers171.74
9Tino OlivaresThe Commissioners Crew170.8
10Jason NaranjoShoot To Grill170.6



PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Ryan JimenezSmoke Benders178.74

Chefs Choice

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Lee GarzaPapalote VFD155.46


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Danny NaranjoLucky Horse shoe172.94


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Le Roy MartinezEl Toro Pesado168.92