ABC Pro Rodeo BBQ Cookoff

March 22, 2024 - March 23, 2024
State Championship

Contest Details

ABC Pro Rodeo BBQ Cookoff
IBCA Contest Number: 2024-131

701 Regis Street
Lubbock, TX 79403
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Jenn Sewell
Tray Pickup: 4:00 P.M. to 6:00 P.M. Friday
Cooks Meeting: Friday at 6:00 P.M.

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket



Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Saturday Ancillaries

Dessert 25.00 10:00 A.M.
Beans 25.00 11:00 A.M.

Contact and Registration

Contact: Scott Taylor


Entry Fee: 200

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Jenn Sewell
Number of Teams: 26

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

Chuck Long / Texas Rebel Smokehouse

Reserve Grand Champion

Lindsey Vinson / I’ll tell you later bbq

Brisket: David Gonzales / 806 Marines Team B
Chicken: Merrick Hager / Smokin Raiders
Pork Spare Ribs: Chuck Long / Texas Rebel Smokehouse


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse574.62
2Lindsey VinsonI’ll tell you later bbq563.36
3David HargraveBubba's Blue Plate555.5
4Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ554.96
5Brenda FriesenMe, Myself and I550.78
6Lance MeeksLone Star Licious546.6
7Tom ClarkeJC's Good Ol' Boys541.36
8Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders539.66
9Sam DeMerrittToo Sauced Birdies538.76
10James TeachoutTCB BBQ536.76


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders196.12
2Lance MeeksLone Star Licious193.86
3Lindsey VinsonI’ll tell you later bbq193.08
4Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse191.06
5Marco VasquezBubba's 33190.2
6Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ187.34
7James TeachoutTCB BBQ186.0
8Brenda FriesenMe, Myself and I186.58
9David HargraveBubba's Blue Plate185.64
10Brad DanielMeatlife Crisis185.2

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse194.86
2Lindsey VinsonI’ll tell you later bbq188.8
3David HargraveBubba's Blue Plate184.8
4Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ184.6
5Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders182.32
6Tom ClarkeJC's Good Ol' Boys181.88
7James TeachoutTCB BBQ180.98
8Lance MeeksLone Star Licious180.06
9Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ178.46
10Brenda FriesenMe, Myself and I173.82


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1David Gonzales806 Marines Team B192.32
2Brenda FriesenMe, Myself and I190.38
3Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse188.7
4Lynn SimmonsSouth Plains Electric Coop186.06
5Sam DeMerrittToo Sauced Birdies185.52
6David HargraveBubba's Blue Plate185.06
7Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ184.66
8Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ183.02
9Juan GarzaPopo'sBBQ182.12
10Lindsey VinsonI’ll tell you later bbq180.48



PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Lance MeeksLone Star Licious192.14
2Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse186.5
3Rachel ElbertNo Regerts179.2


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse192.54
2Kaveri ConatserBeat My Meat BBQ177.84
3Lindsey VinsonI’ll tell you later bbq174.2