4TH Annual John Hybner Memorial Cook Off

March 22, 2024 - March 23, 2024

Contest Details

4TH Annual John Hybner Memorial Cook Off
IBCA Contest Number: 2024-52

306 E Brewery Street
Shiner, TX 77984
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Cindy Niles
Tray Pickup: 4:00pm - 6:00pm Friday
Additional Tray Pickup: 9:00am - 10:00am Saturday
Cooks Meeting: Friday at 6:00pm

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket


100% Pay Out

Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Saturday Ancillaries

Beans $25.00 10:30AM
Michelada $25.00 9:30 AM

Contact and Registration

Contact: Hannah Nevlud


Entry Fee: $175.00

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Cindy Niles
Number of Teams: 57

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

Brandon Janecek / Here for the Beer

Reserve Grand Champion

Justin Fortune / On Point BBQ

Brisket: Justin Fortune / On Point BBQ
Chicken: Mike Tristan / HTX Barbecue
Pork Spare Ribs: Dalton Thumann / Kuff Em Kookers


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Brandon JanecekHere for the Beer544.12
2Justin FortuneOn Point BBQ539.84
3Gerald JohnsonBurnin' My Money536.12
4Zach SmithMeat-Locker Misfits523.84
5Poochy KridlerCome and Take It Cookers518.84
6Marcus GonzalesStax BBQ Co.513.94
7Edward OakesDirt Track Cookers512.78
8Sam FrieseTRIPLE UP BBQ512.7
9Steven FosterD & S Cookers507.28
10Dalton ThumannKuff Em Kookers506.16


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Mike TristanHTX Barbecue180.0
2Sam FrieseTRIPLE UP BBQ179.34
3Gerald JohnsonBurnin' My Money176.72
4Michael KovalskyThree Brisketeers179.6
5Raymond HernandezNo Mas Ponle176.44
6Edward OakesDirt Track Cookers174.54
7Steven FosterD & S Cookers174.48
8Zach SmithMeat-Locker Misfits174.2
9Brandon JanecekHere for the Beer172.58
10Poochy KridlerCome and Take It Cookers170.34

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Dalton ThumannKuff Em Kookers186.14
2Robert GrozeBig Pappa’s BBQ Company186.06
3Edward OakesDirt Track Cookers185.66
4Justin FortuneOn Point BBQ185.0
5Erick gonzalezCertified Tasty BBQ184.8
6Raymond HernandezNo Mas Ponle184.0
7Brandon JanecekHere for the Beer183.54
8Poochy KridlerCome and Take It Cookers179.74
9Zach SmithMeat-Locker Misfits179.38
10Weston KimballNo Boar BBQ178.4


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Justin FortuneOn Point BBQ192.4
2Brandon JanecekHere for the Beer188.0
3Matt KasparRapsak BBQ182.46
4Gerald JohnsonBurnin' My Money182.06
5Marcus GonzalesStax BBQ Co.177.42
6Ted SkinnerMad Scientist Social Club173.24
7Steven FosterD & S Cookers171.86
8Fredo RamosEat My Meat170.34
9Zach SmithMeat-Locker Misfits170.26
10Poochy KridlerCome and Take It Cookers168.76



PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Carl DavisCast Iron Cookers200.52


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Daniel KuderickOn A Mission159.46