BBQ Masters and Cornhole Bracket Battle

March 17, 2023 - March 18, 2023

Contest Details

BBQ Masters and Cornhole Bracket Battle
IBCA Contest Number: 2023-206

1100 west 42nd
Odessa, TX 79763
Head Judge: Ryan Hernandez
Tray Pickup: 7
Cooks Meeting: Friday at 7

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket


Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Saturday Ancillaries

Contact and Registration

Contact: Edward Moreno


Entry Fee: 150

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Ryan Hernandez
Number of Teams: 14

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: Must be a member [Login]

Grand Champion

Tommy Smith / Bent Nail BBQ

Reserve Grand Champion

Anthony Montez / Nena Q BBQ

Brisket: Danny Hernandez / Pepper King
Chicken: Tommy Smith / Bent Nail BBQ
Pork Spare Ribs: Tommy Smith / Bent Nail BBQ


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ525.52
2Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ512.04
3Danny HernandezPepper King510.76
4Brian StephensSnap Hook BBQ505.58
5Timothy MayfieldBig Richard's BBQ501.38
6Sergio GracidaLast Round Up BBQ498.72
7Austyn RenteriaHeavily Marinated493.72
8Tyler ParkerGringo Jalapeno488.06
9Ray ShortRays BBQ478.46
10Jacob LunaPhat Meat Smokers478.12


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ176.06
2Brian StephensSnap Hook BBQ175.14
3Timothy MayfieldBig Richard's BBQ172.7
4Sergio GracidaLast Round Up BBQ170.74
5Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ169.28
6Danny HernandezPepper King165.48
7Tyler ParkerGringo Jalapeno164.98
8Austyn RenteriaHeavily Marinated164.0
9Tony TPaloma Meat Slingers162.14
10Ray ShortRays BBQ156.0

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ181.94
2Timothy MayfieldBig Richard's BBQ179.4
3Jacob LunaPhat Meat Smokers175.66
4James YorkYork's Backwoods BBQ171.42
5Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ170.46
6Brian StephensSnap Hook BBQ170.16
7Ray ShortRays BBQ167.06
8Danny HernandezPepper King162.74
9Tyler ParkerGringo Jalapeno157.48
10Sergio GracidaLast Round Up BBQ153.46


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Danny HernandezPepper King182.54
2Austyn RenteriaHeavily Marinated177.2
3Sergio GracidaLast Round Up BBQ174.52
4Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ172.3
5Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ167.52
6Tyler ParkerGringo Jalapeno165.6
7Brian StephensSnap Hook BBQ160.28
8Jacob LunaPhat Meat Smokers159.94
9Ray ShortRays BBQ155.4
10Larry EsparzaEsparza's 149.28