ABC Pro Rodeo BBQ Cookoff

March 24, 2023 - March 25, 2023
State Championship

Contest Details

ABC Pro Rodeo BBQ Cookoff
IBCA Contest Number: 2023-201

Mallet Event Center
2320 US-385
Levelland, TX 79336
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Ryan Hernandez
Tray Pickup: 7-9
Additional Tray Pickup: 830-930
Cooks Meeting: Saturday at 8AM

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket



Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Saturday Ancillaries

Beans 25 11

Contact and Registration

Contact: Scott Taylor


Entry Fee: 200

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Ryan Hernandez
Number of Teams: 30

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

Merrick Hager / Smokin Raiders

Reserve Grand Champion

Aaron Lesley / Texas Oil Dust

Brisket: Chuck Long / Texas Rebel Smokehouse
Chicken: Aaron Lesley / Texas Oil Dust
Pork Spare Ribs: Merrick Hager / Smokin Raiders


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders542.78
2Aaron LesleyTexas Oil Dust536.18
3Tony ValentineThe Outdoor Chef524.68
4Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ522.08
5Garrett HatchBig Country Barbecue518.98
6Solomon HernandezHD BBQ508.16
7Gabriel HerreraSmokin G's BBQ504.88
8Doug Hargrave3 D Smokeshow503.18
9Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ501.6
10Brennen JohnsonFlatland BBQ499.02


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Aaron LesleyTexas Oil Dust192.4
2Willy TurnerBrothers Q185.14
3Solomon HernandezHD BBQ180.4
4Ricky BranscumStache of Steel179.88
5Tyler ParkerGringo Jalapeno178.54
6Michael Arenivaz4 Amigos177.94
7Tony ValentineThe Outdoor Chef176.48
8Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders175.86
9Jacob FierroRed Iron Barbecue175.32
10Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ175.2

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders187.26
2Tony ValentineThe Outdoor Chef184.92
3Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ184.6
4Craig HallHall-B-Q183.48
5Anez AlesWYD BBQ182.62
6Doug Hargrave3 D Smokeshow181.4
7Ronnie MoorePremier Waterworks179.94
8Gabriel HerreraSmokin G's BBQ178.86
9Lance MeeksLone Star Licious177.52
10Tyler ParkerGringo Jalapeno177.1


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse190.8
2Garrett HatchBig Country Barbecue185.28
3Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders179.66
4Gary RobertsonHoly Smokers BBQ175.16
5Doug Hargrave3 D Smokeshow173.44
6Brennen JohnsonFlatland BBQ172.68
7Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ172.06
8Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ170.46
9Aaron LesleyTexas Oil Dust169.4
10Solomon HernandezHD BBQ164.76



PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Dayson MillerChemo Savvy bbq41.0
2Mareo VasquezKickin Ash and Smokin Flames37.0
3Tony ValentineThe Outdoor Chef36.0