12th Annual Coleto Creek BBQ Assn BBQ Cook Off

May 19, 2023 - May 20, 2023
JPA Kids Que $25.00; Entry Fee includes 1 RV site for Friday and Saturday; Call 979-275-1600 To Reserve your Site - DO NOT BOOK ONLINE!!!

Contest Details

12th Annual Coleto Creek BBQ Assn BBQ Cook Off
IBCA Contest Number: 2023-187

Lost Lagoon RV Resort
655 CR 451
El Campo, TX 77437
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Mary Lynn Gammill
Tray Pickup: Friday between 4pm-6:30pm
Additional Tray Pickup: Before 11:00 AM
Cooks Meeting: Friday at 6:30

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket



Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Bartenders Choice $20 7:30PM
Chefs Choice $20 8:30PM

Saturday Ancillaries

Beans $20 10:00AM

Contact and Registration

Contact: Stephanie Schuckenbrock


Entry Fee: 250

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Mary Lynn Gammill
Number of Teams: 36

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

Eddy Morales / The Pitfather BBQ

Reserve Grand Champion

Randall Kendrick / Hide-A-Way Ranch Cookers

Brisket: Eddy Morales / The Pitfather BBQ
Chicken: Justin Fortune / On Point BBQ
Pork Spare Ribs: Eddy Morales / The Pitfather BBQ


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Eddy MoralesThe Pitfather BBQ569.62
2Randall KendrickHide-A-Way Ranch Cookers553.0
3Robert SmithFirst Class BBQ552.86
4Ed Foster9 Finger Q549.1
5Dwain GarberMid-Coast Cookers545.18
6Nathan OakesSmokin Oakes 2.0542.66
7Blake SchendelJ Bar J Cookers539.16
8Justin FortuneOn Point BBQ536.58
9Paul MartinezPo'Meskin Cookers534.02
10Edward OakesDirt Track Cookers528.72


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Justin FortuneOn Point BBQ193.4
2Randall KendrickHide-A-Way Ranch Cookers190.06
3Nathan OakesSmokin Oakes 2.0188.96
4Chris WilderTXBBQAF188.4
5Ed Foster9 Finger Q188.26
6Robert SmithFirst Class BBQ185.02
7Blake SchendelJ Bar J Cookers183.08
8Paul MartinezPo'Meskin Cookers182.92
9Daniel RamirezComin In Hot179.62
10Steven FosterD & S COOKERS177.68

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Eddy MoralesThe Pitfather BBQ198.08
2Daniel RamirezComin In Hot194.68
3Robert SmithFirst Class BBQ192.22
4Dwain GarberMid-Coast Cookers190.36
5Ed Foster9 Finger Q184.7
6Paul MartinezPo'Meskin Cookers183.36
7Edward OakesDirt Track Cookers182.1
8Craig OakesSmokin Oakes180.48
9Nathan OakesSmokin Oakes 2.0179.44
10Blake SchendelJ Bar J Cookers179.26


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Eddy MoralesThe Pitfather BBQ196.54
2Randall KendrickHide-A-Way Ranch Cookers189.96
3Justin FortuneOn Point BBQ188.48
4Edward OakesDirt Track Cookers182.94
5John Gonzales8 Ball Kookers181.32
6Dwain GarberMid-Coast Cookers180.0
7Abel PerezSmokers Anonymous BBQ179.48
8Blake SchendelJ Bar J Cookers176.82
9Ed Foster9 Finger Q176.14
10Robert SmithFirst Class BBQ175.62


Bartenders Choice

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Robert SmithFirst Class BBQ77.0
2Peggy ValezPeach Lemon Tea67.0
3Kenna LucasPink Cadillac60.0


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Bradley NelsonKitty City Cookers172.0
2Justin CamposFamily Cue and Cue170.08
3Randall KendrickHide-A-Way Ranch Cookers169.76

Chefs Choice

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Justin FortuneOn Point BBQ185.2
2Craig OakesSmokin Oakes176.34
3Donny YargoDead Broke Cookers175.62