West Texas BBQ Cook-off

January 29, 2021 - January 30, 2021
State Championship

Contest Details

West Texas BBQ Cook-off
IBCA Contest Number: 2021-1211

4201 Andrews Hwy
Odessa, TX 79762
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Jennifer Dizmang
Tray Pickup:
Cooks Meeting: Saturday at 7:30am

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket



Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 2 Fully Jointed Chicken Halves (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 9 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 9 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Margaritas 25.00 7pm
Wings 25.00 7:30pm

Saturday Ancillaries

Contact and Registration

Contact: Cori Branscum


Entry Fee: 150.00

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Jennifer Dizmang
Number of Teams: 50

Grand Champion

Chuck Long / Texas Rebel Smokehouse

Reserve Grand Champion

Aaron Lesley / Texas Oil Dust

Brisket: Chuck Long / Texas Rebel Smokehouse
Chicken: Matt Alexander / Kiss My Rack
Pork Spare Ribs: Aaron Lesley / Texas Oil Dust


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse18.0
2Aaron LesleyTexas Oil Dust18.0
3Matt AlexanderKiss My Rack17.0
4Doug BarrowGrillbillys15.0
5Ryan Hernandez2D BBQ9.0
6Brian StephensLazy Boy Cooking9.0
7Kit PartenTexas Smoke Whisperers9.0
8Craig HallHall-B-Q8.0
9Paul WhitakerScooter's BBQ8.0
10Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders8.0


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Matt AlexanderKiss My Rack10.0
2Kit PartenTexas Smoke Whisperers9.0
3Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse8.0
4Kade BensonBuckin' Smoke7.0
5Soloman HernandezHD BBQ6.0
6Craig HallHall-B-Q5.0
7Brian StephensLazy Boy Cooking4.0
8John WatsonSouthern Boys BBQ3.0
9Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders2.0
10Jason TrentSmoked and Saucy1.0

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Aaron LesleyTexas Oil Dust10.0
2Doug BarrowGrillbillys9.0
3Paul WhitakerScooter's BBQ8.0
4Kevin EbelingSmokin' Stache7.0
5Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders6.0
6Brian StephensLazy Boy Cooking5.0
7Gene PipesSmokin Pipes BBQ4.0
8John WatsonSouthern Boys BBQ3.0
9Craig HallHall-B-Q2.0
10Allen SmithhartSBK BBQ1.0


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse10.0
2Ryan Hernandez2D BBQ9.0
3Aaron LesleyTexas Oil Dust8.0
4Matt AlexanderKiss My Rack7.0
5Doug BarrowGrillbillys6.0
6Greg PhillipsThe Smokin Cajun5.0
7Lance MooreWest Texas Pit Masters4.0
8Justin HarrisonHarrison's BBQ Company3.0
10Craig HallHall-B-Q1.0



PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Jimmy Stephens


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders0.0