Joe Davis Scholarship

June 7, 2024 - June 8, 2024

Contest Details

Joe Davis Scholarship
IBCA Contest Number: 2024-117

Hempstead tba
Hempstead, TX 77445
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Maria Henry
Tray Pickup: 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Additional Tray Pickup: 9:30 A.M - 10:30 A.M. Saturday
Cooks Meeting: Friday at 6:00 PM

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket



Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Saturday Ancillaries

Beans 25.00 11:00 A.M.

Contact and Registration

Contact: John Caine


Entry Fee: 200.00

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Maria Henry
Number of Teams: 13

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

Jamie Robey / Texas Smoke

Reserve Grand Champion

Rita Marczewski / Bet Yur Ash BBQ

Brisket: Mike Gomez / Mike’s Q
Chicken: Jamie Robey / Texas Smoke
Pork Spare Ribs: Allan Freeman / Chickapicow


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke547.56
2Rita MarczewskiBet Yur Ash BBQ538.04
3Allan FreemanChickapicow528.18
4James MillerThin Line BBQ514.98
5Dustin StandleyTwisted Flames514.74
6David LindquistNo Maintenance503.4
7Charles KramerLoneStar SmokeStacks489.7
8Mike GomezMike’s Q485.98
9Mickey LangLang’s Bad To The Bone BBQ480.1
10Chris HenryCrazy Henry Cookers466.3


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke189.46
2David LindquistNo Maintenance177.6
3Rita MarczewskiBet Yur Ash BBQ174.16
4Dustin StandleyTwisted Flames172.86
5Chris HenryCrazy Henry Cookers166.22
6James MillerThin Line BBQ163.74
7Charles KramerLoneStar SmokeStacks160.88
8Steve ThompsonDrifty Boys157.44
9Mike GomezMike’s Q150.82
10Trent WatsonMontgomery Temple 106147.8

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Allan FreemanChickapicow200.14
2Rita MarczewskiBet Yur Ash BBQ189.28
3David LindquistNo Maintenance184.0
4Dustin StandleyTwisted Flames178.4
5James MillerThin Line BBQ174.62
6Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke171.4
7Mickey LangLang’s Bad To The Bone BBQ167.02
8Ron GarciaBig Ron's Rub161.48
9Charles KramerLoneStar SmokeStacks156.68
10Steve ThompsonDrifty Boys154.52


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Mike GomezMike’s Q189.08
2Allan FreemanChickapicow187.84
3Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke186.7
4James MillerThin Line BBQ176.62
5Rita MarczewskiBet Yur Ash BBQ174.6
6Charles KramerLoneStar SmokeStacks172.14
7Mickey LangLang’s Bad To The Bone BBQ170.42
8Chris HenryCrazy Henry Cookers167.6
9Dustin StandleyTwisted Flames163.48
10Ron GarciaBig Ron's Rub149.92



PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1David LindquistNo Maintenance175.86