Texas Motor Speedway BBQ Showdown

April 12, 2024 - April 13, 2024
There is a 100-dollar total discount when signing up and paying for both NASCAR and COTA events. Reminder that you're in the infield for that price at Texas Motor Speedway. Lot's more perks and well worth the money for racecar fans.

Contest Details

Texas Motor Speedway BBQ Showdown
IBCA Contest Number: 2024-108

3545 Lone Star Circle
Ft. Worth, TX 76177
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Mary Lynn Gammill
Tray Pickup:
Cooks Meeting: at

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket


$5,000 payout; paying 1-10th each category

Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Saturday Ancillaries

Contact and Registration

Contact: Kayla Ochocki


Entry Fee: 500

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Mary Lynn Gammill
Number of Teams: 28

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

Karrisa Smith / Shut Up & Smoke

Reserve Grand Champion

Aubrey Hart / Hart of Texas BBQ

Brisket: Karissa Smith / Shut Up & Smoke
Chicken: Tony Muse / Gillbilly Gourmets
Pork Spare Ribs: Robert Smith / First Class BBQ


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Karrisa SmithShut Up & Smoke579.76
2Aubrey HartHart of Texas BBQ554.96
3Robert SmithFirst Class BBQ552.94
4Timothy BalchBalch's Blazin BBQ547.0
5Justin WestHatcreek Q538.94
6Allan FreemanChickapicow538.84
7Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke537.7
8Ashley HoeflingBreggy Bomb BBQ531.58
9Mike GomezMike’s Q519.22
10Jason SagmillerRACE CREW DRUM SMOKERS509.0


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Tony MuseGillbilly Gourmets193.48
2Karissa SmithShut Up & Smoke189.14
3Allan FreemanChickapicow188.34
4Ashley HoeflingNastycookers184.62
5Jason SagmillerRACE CREW DRUM SMOKERS183.2
6Aubrey HartHart of Texas BBQ183.0
7Rick MirelezLick My Stack Cooking Team179.34
8Justin WestHatcreek Q178.32
9Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke177.12
10Robert SmithFirst Class BBQ176.0

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Robert SmithFirst Class BBQ192.0
2Karissa SmithShut Up & Smoke191.54
3Aubrey HartHart of Texas BBQ189.14
4Justin WestHatcreek Q188.42
5Timothy BalchBalch's Blazin BBQ188.34
6Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke182.24
7Mike GomezMike’s Q172.74
8Patrick HamackTurn 2 Pit Crew169.84
9Michael CockrillThe Watering Hole169.82
10Ashley HoeflingBreggy Bomb BBQ169.52


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Karissa SmithShut Up & Smoke199.08
2Timothy BalchBalch's Blazin BBQ190.54
3Allan FreemanChickapicow186.82
4Robert SmithFirst Class BBQ184.28
5Mike GomezMike’s Q182.88
6Aubrey HartHart of Texas BBQ182.82
7Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke178.34
8Ashley HoeflingBreggy Bomb BBQ177.44
9Justin WestHatcreek Q172.2
10Justin SchenkKubach kookers170.16