22nd Annual Breast Cancer Awareness Chili & Bar B Cue Cook Off

October 13, 2023 - October 14, 2023
State Championship

Contest Details

22nd Annual Breast Cancer Awareness Chili & Bar B Cue Cook Off
IBCA Contest Number: 2024-80

501 Veterans Airpark Road
Midland, TX 79705
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Ryan Hernandez
Tray Pickup: Friday
Cooks Meeting: Friday at

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket



Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Saturday Ancillaries

Contact and Registration

Contact: Toby Walker


Entry Fee: 200

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Ryan Hernandez
Number of Teams: 25

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

Tommy Smith / Bent Nail BBQ

Reserve Grand Champion

Chuck Long / Texas Rebel Smokehouse

Brisket: Kyle Hernandez / That Oil Money
Chicken: Aaron Stephens / Snaphook BBQ
Pork Spare Ribs: Tommy Smith / Bent Nail BBQ


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ566.38
2Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse536.66
3Kyle HernandezThat Oil Money534.18
4whitney nixGypsy Antler BBQ515.4
5Greg PhillipsThe Smokin Cajun512.64
6Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ512.6
7Tom WalkerLazy Tom's BBQ512.16
8Ernesto AcevedoDouble Ace BBQ508.1
9Paul WhitakerScooter's BBQ504.62
10Aaron StephensSnaphook BBQ502.36


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Aaron StephensSnaphook BBQ197.66
2Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse194.72
3Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ190.06
4whitney nixGypsy Antler BBQ184.8
5Tom WalkerLazy Tom's BBQ175.42
6Ernesto AcevedoDouble Ace BBQ175.12
7Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ173.18
8Jacob SalgadoCrumgado171.66
9Kyle HernandezThat Oil Money166.88
10Greg PhillipsThe Smokin Cajun166.46

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ189.3
2Greg PhillipsThe Smokin Cajun188.94
3Tom WalkerLazy Tom's BBQ178.4
4whitney nixGypsy Antler BBQ175.9
5Kyle HernandezThat Oil Money175.28
6Ernesto AcevedoDouble Ace BBQ173.82
7Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ172.74
8Paul WhitakerScooter's BBQ170.86
9Brian ArmstrongFTR Los Gringos169.16
10Aaron StephensSnaphook BBQ163.48


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Kyle HernandezThat Oil Money192.02
2Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ187.02
3Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse181.64
4Paul WhitakerScooter's BBQ168.68
5Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ166.68
6Jacob SalgadoCrumgado163.82
7Cheston MicykWarsaints160.54
8Ernesto AcevedoDouble Ace BBQ159.16
9Colt CrumrineUMF Smokers158.56
10Tom WalkerLazy Tom's BBQ158.34