20th Annual Hogs at the Point

April 19, 2024 - April 20, 2024
State Championship
Saturday Kids Q/No Cost/Pork Chops. Meat is Provided. Turn in: 4:45PM Awards : 5:45PM

Contest Details

20th Annual Hogs at the Point
IBCA Contest Number: 2024-56

5145 FM 722
Channing, TX 79018
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Robin Myers
Tray Pickup: 7-8PM
Additional Tray Pickup: 8-9AM
Cooks Meeting: Friday at 7PM

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket



Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Saturday Ancillaries

Beans $25 930 AM
Open $25 1030 AM

Contact and Registration

Contact: David Riggins


Entry Fee: 200

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Robin Myers
Number of Teams: 12

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

James Teachout / TCB BBQ

Reserve Grand Champion

Michael Narvaez / Fat Monkey BBQ

Brisket: James Teachout / TCB BBQ
Chicken: Michael Narvaez / Fat Monkey BBQ
Pork Spare Ribs: Erik Torres / UPPERCUT Smokers


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1James TeachoutTCB BBQ556.8
2Michael NarvaezFat Monkey BBQ530.68
3Soloman HernandezH-D BBQ255.92
4Stetson JonesHarlee-Jax BBQ510.54
5Erik TorresUPPERCUT Smokers502.28
6Doug BarrowGrillbillys498.56
7Brian DenneyPit Pirates BBQ487.6
8Jennifer DizmangDizzy Bee BBQ478.02
9Greg ThompsonValero466.0
10Buddy BurtonTurn 2446.76


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Michael NarvaezFat Monkey BBQ190.06
2Soloman HernandezH-D BBQ187.22
3James TeachoutTCB BBQ185.34
4Stetson JonesHarlee-Jax BBQ180.88
5Brian DenneyPit Pirates BBQ172.52
6Doug BarrowGrillbillys171.26
7Mario GarciaBig Chief BBQ165.54
8Erik TorresUPPERCUT Smokers164.26
9Bob HusemanDreams BBQ162.34
10Greg ThompsonValero158.54

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Erik TorresUPPERCUT Smokers193.4
2James TeachoutTCB BBQ190.32
3Michael NarvaezFat Monkey BBQ181.88
4Stetson JonesHarlee-Jax BBQ180.84
5Doug BarrowGrillbillys170.88
6Jennifer DizmangDizzy Bee BBQ168.06
7Soloman HernandezH-D BBQ166.42
8Brian DenneyPit Pirates BBQ161.18
9Greg ThompsonValero155.54
10Buddy BurtonTurn 2152.6


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1James TeachoutTCB BBQ181.14
2Solomon HernandezHD BBQ169.28
3Michael NarvaezFat Monkey BBQ158.74
4Jennifer DizmangDizzy Bee BBQ157.68
5Doug BarrowGrillbillys156.42
6Brian DenneyPit Pirates BBQ153.9
7Greg ThompsonValero151.92
8Stetson JonesHarlee-Jax BBQ148.82
9Buddy BurtonTurn 2146.2
10Erik TorresUPPERCUT Smokers144.62



PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1James TeachoutTCB BBQ170.6
2Jennifer DizmangDizzy Bee BBQ167.2
3Bob HusemanDreams BBQ160.92


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1James TeachoutTCB BBQ203.6
2Stetson JonesHarlee-Jax BBQ199.2
3Doug BarrowGrillbillys194.8