1st Annual Texas BBQ Throwdown at The Tree Farm

May 12, 2023 - May 13, 2023

Contest Details

1st Annual Texas BBQ Throwdown at The Tree Farm
IBCA Contest Number: 2023-224

20881 FM 2154
College Station, TX 77845
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Laverne Akin
Tray Pickup: Friday between 4pm-6pm
Additional Tray Pickup: Before 11:00 AM
Cooks Meeting: Friday at 6:00 in the Breezeway

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket


80/20 Payout after expenses

Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Margaritas 25 7:30
Steak 25 8:30

Saturday Ancillaries

Beans 25 10:00
Dessert 25 11:00

Contact and Registration

Contact: Felicia Sheffy


Entry Fee: 200

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Laverne Akin
Number of Teams: 13

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

Dennis Butterworth / Warpig BBQ

Reserve Grand Champion

Jamie Robey / Texas Smoke

Brisket: Dennis Butterworth / Warpig BBQ
Chicken: Jamie Robey / Texas Smoke
Pork Spare Ribs: Dennis Butterworth / Warpig BBQ


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Dennis ButterworthWarpig BBQ546.26
2Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke542.2
3Amy WilsonCrooked Crown Cookers532.6
4Edward OakesDirt Track Cookers530.34
5Gabe SheffyPride Bbq524.34
6Blake SchendelJ Bar J Texas Pit Bbq520.66
7Fred BurrisKaleo Homes516.4
8Mickey LangLang’s Bad To The Bone BBQ511.36
9Jason SagmillerRACE CREW DRUM SMOKERS508.68
10Mike GomezMike’s Q507.98


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke188.06
2Edward OakesDirt Track Cookers185.66
3Mike GomezMike’s Q182.8
4Blake SchendelJ Bar J Texas Pit Bbq181.86
5Dennis ButterworthWarpig BBQ181.25
6Gabe SheffyPride Bbq178.8
7Amy WilsonCrooked Crown Cookers178.46
8Mark SikesTailgate Bros178.14
9Fred BurrisKaleo Homes177.28
10Alton OfczarzakOakwood Smokey173.22

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Dennis ButterworthWarpig BBQ173.6
2Amy WilsonCrooked Crown Cookers172.6
3Gabe SheffyPride Bbq168.94
4Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke168.6
5Mickey LangLang’s Bad To The Bone BBQ166.14
6Fred BurrisKaleo Homes164.06
7Edward OakesDirt Track Cookers163.68
8Jason SagmillerRACE CREW DRUM SMOKERS163.08
9Mark SikesTailgate Bros158.48
10Blake SchendelJ Bar J Texas Pit Bbq158.46


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Dennis ButterworthWarpig BBQ191.4
2Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke185.54
3Amy WilsonCrooked Crown Cookers181.54
4Edward OakesDirt Track Cookers181.0
5Blake SchendelJ Bar J Texas Pit Bbq180.34
6Mike GomezMike’s Q177.88
7Gabe SheffyPride Bbq176.6
8Jason SagmillerRACE CREW DRUM SMOKERS175.4
9Fred BurrisKaleo Hom"I'es175.08
10Mickey LangLang’s Bad To The Bone BBQ173.82



PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Mark SikesTailgate Bros


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Fred BurrisKaleo Hom"I'es


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Fred BurrisKaleo Hom"I'es


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Amy WilsonCrooked Crown Cookers