El Campo Lost Lagoon 5th Annual BBQ Cook Off

September 15, 2023 - September 16, 2023
Friday Night Chef's Choice (No Dessert)

Contest Details

El Campo Lost Lagoon 5th Annual BBQ Cook Off
IBCA Contest Number: 2024-37

665 County Road 451
El Campo, TX 77437
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Rose Simola
Tray Pickup: Friday between 4pm-6pm
Additional Tray Pickup: Before 11:00 AM
Cooks Meeting: Friday at 6:00

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket



Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Chefs Choice 25.00 7:00 P.M.
Margaritas 25 7:30PM

Saturday Ancillaries

Beans 25.00 10:00 A.M.

Contact and Registration

Contact: Peggy Valdez


Entry Fee: 265.00

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Rose Simola
Number of Teams: 32

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

Weston Kimball / No Boar BBQ

Reserve Grand Champion

Ashley Hoefling / Breggy Bomb BBQ

Brisket: Ashley Hoefling / Breggy Bomb BBQ
Chicken: Al Lesnik / Rowdy Crowd
Pork Spare Ribs: Weston Kimball / No Boar BBQ


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Weston KimballNo Boar BBQ527.06
2Ashley HoeflingBreggy Bomb BBQ526.84
3Brandon FloresThe Chopping Block 110505.7
4Steven FosterD & S Cookers505.5
5Carlos GarzaStill Smokin504.6
6John TyrnaTHE CHOPPIG BLOCK498.48
7Tony LongoriaLos 239 Grillers495.5
8Zach SmithMeat-Locker Misfits493.56
9Al LesnikRowdy Crowd484.58
10Kennith GibsonLease Crue Cookers483.92


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Al LesnikRowdy Crowd180.0
2Bobby MesaLone Star Stokers172.74
3Kelly BlackwellRafter B Cookers 2170.4
4Tony LongoriaLos 239 Grillers170.14
5Weston KimballNo Boar BBQ167.16
6Chad Eckert164.8
7Carlos GarzaStill Smokin164.6
8Ronnie EckertCountry Critters BBQ164.36
9Justin CamposHere for a Good Time164.34
10John TyrnaTHE CHOPPIG BLOCK163.34

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Weston KimballNo Boar BBQ177.74
2Carlos GarzaStill Smokin176.34
3Brandon FloresThe Chopping Block 110175.42
4Ashley HoeflingBreggy Bomb BBQ173.8
5Zach SmithMeat-Locker Misfits171.46
6Steven FosterD & S Cookers171.2
7John TyrnaTHE CHOPPIG BLOCK167.94
8Kelly BlackwellRafter B Cookers 2164.72
9Dustin BlackwellRafter B Coockers164.32
10Anthony CaseyRusty Bucket BBQ164.08


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Ashley HoeflingBreggy Bomb BBQ190.56
2Zach SmithMeat-Locker Misfits184.48
3Weston KimballNo Boar BBQ182.16
4Mark ReaganAce in The Hole181.06
5Brandon FloresThe Chopping Block 110176.74
6Steven FosterD & S Cookers173.28
7Justin FortuneOn Point BBQ172.54
8Kenneth GibsonLease Crue Cookers172.22
9Chris GonzalesGNG Cookers168.02
10John TyrnaTHE CHOPPIG BLOCK167.2



PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Thomas ZarkowskiPumpin' Smoke Cookers178.2
2Kenneth GibsonLease Crue Cookers72.54
3Kristen FloresThe Chopping Block 2171.92

Chefs Choice

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Justin FortuneOn Point BBQ193.06
2John TyrnaTHE CHOPPIG BLOCK181.68
3Tino QuezadaPatron Kookers177.52


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Kelly BlackwellRafter B Cookers 2184.44
2Peggy ValdezP&J Lost Lagoon170.38
3Ashley HoeflingBreggy Bomb BBQ168.88