WarPig Winter Battle BBQ Cook Off

January 26, 2024 - January 27, 2024
State Championship
Attention: Registration for the cook-off does not include your camp site. Please contact the KOA to reserve your space or cabin. Mention WarPig Winter Battle for the discount. Phone: (936) 582-1200

Contest Details

WarPig Winter Battle BBQ Cook Off
IBCA Contest Number: 2024-31

19785 HWY 105 West
Montgomery, TX 77356
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Mary Lynn Gammill
Tray Pickup: 3:00 P.M. to 6:00 P.M. Friday
Additional Tray Pickup: 10:00 A.M. - 11:00 A.M. Saturday
Cooks Meeting: Friday at 6:00 P.M.

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket


100% Pay Out

Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Saturday Ancillaries

Contact and Registration

Contact: Dennis Butterworth


Entry Fee: 250.00

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Mary Lynn Gammill
Number of Teams: 60

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

Carlos Guerra / Smokin’ Dirty

Reserve Grand Champion

Louie Gonzales / BTB

Brisket: Phong Vuong / Xtreme Texas Cookers
Chicken: Brandon Kolaja / BBQ PROJECT
Pork Spare Ribs: John Tyrna / The Chopping Block


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Carlos GuerraSmokin’ Dirty579.36
2Louie GonzalesBTB 555.94
3John TyrnaThe Chopping Block549.72
4Phong VuongXtreme Texas Cookers549.4
5Jason SagmillerRACE CREW DRUM SMOKERS549.3
6Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke546.0
7Brandon PerrymanAlways Forward BBQ544.88
8Paul FloresNut’n But Smoke Kookers539.54
9Brandon KolajaBBQ PROJECT530.62
10Lyle OsadchukLazy Honey Badgers527.3


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Brandon KolajaBBQ PROJECT202.4
2Ted Glass Airborne Smoke200.72
3Jamie RobeyTexas Smoke194.92
4Carlos GuerraSmokin’ Dirty194.6
5John TyrnaThe Chopping Block186.58
6Lyle OsadchukLazy Honey Badgers185.82
7Louie GonzalesBTB 183.66
8Chris BrashearTiny Wood Cookers182.8
9Chad WardenSmoke Therapy180.6
10Jason SagmillerRACE CREW DRUM SMOKERS179.76

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1John TyrnaThe Chopping Block200.14
2Carlos GuerraSmokin’ Dirty196.4
3Brandon PerrymanAlways Forward BBQ195.46
4Phong VuongXtreme Texas Cookers192.0
5Jason SagmillerRACE CREW DRUM SMOKERS191.2
6Don CanterburyWe B Smokin'191.18
7Allen AyresCompassion's Fire & Smoke190.34
8Lester PerkinsPerkins Creek BBQ189.48
9Darrin ThumannLucky 7 bbq188.88
10Randall KendrickHide-A-Way Ranch Cookers186.18


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Phong VuongXtreme Texas Cookers198.06
2Paul FloresNut’n But Smoke Kookers189.0
3Carlos GuerraSmokin’ Dirty188.36
4Louie GonzalesBTB 188.28
5CLYDE JONESWasted Sauce Cookers186.86
6Bill ManningBJ's Blue Smoke BBQ185.88
7Brandon PerrymanAlways Forward BBQ185.14
8Allen AyresCompassion's Fire & Smoke183.14
9Chris WilderTXBBQAF182.98
10Mike BeezleyTeam FUBAR182.8