2023 AGC Houston BBQ Cook Off

March 31, 2023 - April 1, 2023

Contest Details

2023 AGC Houston BBQ Cook Off
IBCA Contest Number: 2023-202

Pasadena Convention Center and Municipal Fairgrounds
7902 Fairmont Parkway
Pasadena, TX 77507
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Mary Lynn Gammill
Tray Pickup: 2pm - 3pm Friday /Cooks meeting then tray pickup resumes till 5pm
Additional Tray Pickup: 9:00 A.M. - 10:00 A.M. Saturday
Cooks Meeting: Friday at 3:00 P.M.

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket



Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Salsa $30.00 6:00 P.M.
Margaritas $30.00 7:00 P.M.
Crawfish $30.00 8:00 P.M.

Saturday Ancillaries

Bloody Mary $30.00 10:00 A.M.
Dessert $30.00 11:00 A.M.

Contact and Registration

Contact: Charlene Anthony


Entry Fee: 900.00

Competition Results

Head Judge: Mary Lynn Gammill
Number of Teams: 27

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

Dean Olsen / Eyesite Surveillance, Inc

Reserve Grand Champion

Jorge Rodriguez / The Murrillo Company

Brisket: Tim Kuykendall / The Beck Group Team 1
Chicken: Dean Olsen / Eyesite Surveillance, Inc
Pork Spare Ribs: Andrew Wilson / Joeris General Contractors


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Dean OlsenEyesite Surveillance, Inc528.14
2Jorge RodriguezThe Murrillo Company520.48
3Julian VillegasThe Beck Group, Team 2505.32
4Edgar BarronM Strategic Partners497.34
5Billy BrooksAdvantage Instrumental Elec Team 1497.08
6Al RosbroughJomar Electrical Contr492.68
7Pedro RiveraTellepsen484.6
8Brady JohnsonHoar Construction Team 1483.44
9Danny KirkpatrickTadco Roofing & Waterproofing482.82
10Andrew WilsonJoeris General Contractors481.32


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Dean OlsenEyesite Surveillance, Inc189.34
2Julian VillegasThe Beck Group, Team 2186.4
3Ashley SpiersImpact Fire Services184.88
4Jorge RodriguezThe Murrillo Company183.4
5Pedro RiveraTellepsen179.8
6Billy BrooksAdvantage Instrumental Elec Team 1171.34
7Edgar BarronM Strategic Partners168.86
8Tim KuykendallThe Beck Group Team 1168.02
9Al RosbroughJomar Electrical Contr167.52
10Brady JohnsonHoar Construction Team 1165.6

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Andrew WilsonJoeris General Contractors185.92
2Jorge RodriguezThe Murrillo Company185.54
3Matt StevensCampos Engineering183.14
4Al RosbroughJomar Electrical Contr182.4
5Dean OlsenEyesite Surveillance, Inc171.18
6Edgar BarronM Strategic Partners170.68
7Billy BrooksAdvantage Instrumental Elec Team 1166.6
8Ashley SpiersImpact Fire Services165.78
9Alfred AparicioMarton Roofing163.3
10Danny KirkpatrickTadco Roofing & Waterproofing162.74


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Tim KuykendallThe Beck Group Team 1171.52
2J Mike ShipmanMcCarthy Building Companies, Inc.169.54
3Dean OlsenEyesite Surveillance, Inc167.62
4Shawn ZieglerHoar Construction Team 2167.08
5Julian VillegasThe Beck Group, Team 2161.94
6Danny KirkpatrickTadco Roofing & Waterproofing161.74
7Trevor CookBinswanger Glass160.86
8Billy BrooksAdvantage Instrumental Elec Team 1159.14
9Brady JohnsonHoar Construction Team 1158.58
10Edgar BarronM Strategic Partners157.8


Bloody Mary

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Kevin GarzaDynamic Glass inc155.12
2John RosasWalker Engineering, Inc Team 1154.48
3Alfred AparicioMarton Roofing151.44


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Eric GonzalesWhitecap175.24
2Tommy SchileskiSkanska USA Building Inc165.54
3Jorge RodriguezThe Murillo Company165.04


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Tim KuykendallThe Beck Group Team 1203.0
2Julian VillegasThe Beck Group, Team 2202.66
3Travis ReaganLinbeck Group, LLC Team 1198.54


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Shawn ZieglarHoar Construction team 2165.16
2John RosasWalker Engineering team 1161.8
3Brady JohnsonHoar Construction Team 1161.76


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Mark SelfW S Bellows Construction Corp163.14
2Brian PetzoldLinbeck Group, LL Team 2160.34
3Tim RosenbergChamberlain Roofing & Waterproofing154.2