Smokin on the Plaza

June 16, 2023 - June 17, 2023
State Championship

Contest Details

Smokin on the Plaza
IBCA Contest Number: 2023-160

Downtown Lovington
Lovington, NM 88260
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Ryan Hernandez
Tray Pickup: Friday 12PM-5PM
Cooks Meeting: Saturday at 8:30AM

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket



Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Saturday Ancillaries

Beans $30 3:30PM
Anything Goes $30 3:30PM

Contact and Registration

Contact: Mara Salcido


Entry Fee: 150

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Ryan Hernandez
Number of Teams: 33

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

DARYL WALKER / Sweeties Bar Bq

Reserve Grand Champion

Paul Whitaker / Scooter's BBQ

Brisket: Aaron Lesley / Texas Oil Dust
Chicken: DARYL WALKER / Sweeties Bar Bq
Pork Spare Ribs: Brian Erbe / Big B BBQ


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1DARYL WALKERSweeties Bar Bq569.6
2Paul WhitakerScooter's BBQ558.74
3Gary RobertsonHoly Smokers BBQ555.06
4Manuel MorenoChingon BBQ550.96
5Aaron LesleyTexas Oil Dust550.26
6Jayde HenleyBUCKSHOT BBQ545.08
7Fred RoblesRio Valley Meat544.02
8Brian ErbeBig B BBQ543.74
9Malcolm KitchenCast Iron Cookers537.28
10Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ529.96


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1DARYL WALKERSweeties Bar Bq204.2
2Paul WhitakerScooter's BBQ201.18
3Malcolm KitchenCast Iron Cookers196.86
4Jayde HenleyBUCKSHOT BBQ190.74
5Fred RoblesRio Valley Meat189.94
6Manuel MorenoChingon BBQ186.12
7Leo AlvarezBigotes BBQ180.6
8Gary RobertsonHoly Smokers BBQ180.46
9Jeff RezacLucky Smoke178.66
10Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ177.54

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Brian ErbeBig B BBQ196.22
2Aaron LesleyTexas Oil Dust189.8
3Paul WhitakerScooter's BBQ188.14
4DARYL WALKERSweeties Bar Bq186.6
5Lee'Ayn Lesly Summer MorenoSweetly Savage181.6
6Gary RobertsonHoly Smokers BBQ180.8
7Jayde HenleyBUCKSHOT BBQ180.54
8Malcolm KitchenCast Iron Cookers179.86
9Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ179.4
10Kenny KimBaja Grill179.06


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Aaron LesleyTexas Oil Dust196.46
2Gary RobertsonHoly Smokers BBQ193.8
3Manuel MorenoChingon BBQ186.22
4Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ184.28
5Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ180.08
6DARYL WALKERSweeties Bar Bq178.8
7Donnie HillThe Right Stuff BBQ178.28
8Garrett HatchBig Country Barbecue177.8
9Fred RoblesRio Valley Meat176.42
10Brian ErbeBig B BBQ176.2