Smokin on the Plaza

June 17, 2022 - June 18, 2022
State Championship
Registration and set-up starts Friday June 17th at 5:00pm. ****Contestants that arrive early will be asked to wait in the north end of the Lea County Fairgrounds Parking Lot 101 S Commercial, Lovington NM. ****

Contest Details

Smokin on the Plaza
IBCA Contest Number: 2022-1467

100 N Main (downtown Lovington)
Lovington, NM 88260
[Driving Directions]

Head Judge: Robin Myers
Tray Pickup: 6-8 PM
Cooks Meeting: Friday at 8:00 pm

Turn in times / Schedule
12:00 Chicken
1:30 Pork Spare Ribs
3:00 Brisket



Meats to be Cooked

Half Chicken 1 Fully Jointed Chicken Half (Complete with wing, breast, thigh and leg.)
Pork Spare Ribs (Required: 8 Individual Pork Spare Ribs)
Brisket (Required: 8 Full Slices)

Friday Ancillaries

Saturday Ancillaries

Beans 30.00 10:30 A.M.
Anything Goes 30.00 4:00 p.m.

Contact and Registration

Contact: Mara Salcido


Entry Fee: 150

Contest Registration/Flyer

Competition Results

Head Judge: Robin Myers
Number of Teams: 27

Tickets Summary: [PDF]

Master Ticket Details: [PDF]

Grand Champion

Summer Moreno / Kickin Ashes

Reserve Grand Champion

Chuck Long / Texas Rebel Smokehouse

Brisket: Paul Whitaker / Scooter's BBQ
Chicken: Summer Moreno / Kickin Ashes
Pork Spare Ribs: Jeremy Cortez / Smoking OCD


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Summer MorenoKickin Ashes561.16
2Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse541.0
3Dennis ButterworthWarpig BBQ522.62
4Gary RobertsonHoly Smokers BBQ522.38
5Manuel MorenoChingon BBQ521.64
6Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ521.52
7Fred RoblesRio Valley Meat515.46
8Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ513.02
9Jeremy CortezSmoking OCD512.0
10Aaron LesleyTexas Oil Dust506.44


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Summer MorenoKickin Ashes207.6
2Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ185.94
3Manuel MorenoChingon BBQ185.54
4Dennis ButterworthWarpig BBQ182.94
5Nathan EubankTrue Blue BBq181.42
6Greg PhillipsThe Smokin Cajun179.58
7Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ178.0
8Gary RobertsonHoly Smokers BBQ175.82
9Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders174.08
10Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse173.88

Pork Spare Ribs

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Jeremy CortezSmoking OCD186.92
2Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse186.42
3Summer MorenoKickin Ashes183.46
4Gary RobertsonHoly Smokers BBQ183.32
5Manuel MorenoChingon BBQ182.32
6Aaron LesleyTexas Oil Dust182.18
7William PurvisChicken Fried BBQ180.26
8Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ177.68
9Fernando JimenezCode 3 BBQ176.74
10Joe WebsterRollin' Smoke176.56


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Paul WhitakerScooter's BBQ184.41
2Fred RoblesRio Valley Meat181.12
3Erik TorresUPPERCUT Smokers180.88
4Chuck LongTexas Rebel Smokehouse180.7
5Jeremy CortezSmoking OCD176.76
6Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders175.34
7Aaron LesleyTexas Oil Dust174.12
8Craig HallHall-B-Q172.78
9Summer MorenoKickin Ashes170.1
10Anthony MontezNena Q BBQ169.14


Anything Goes

PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Tommy SmithBent Nail BBQ170.2


PlaceHead CookTeamPoints
1Merrick HagerSmokin Raiders162.2