Smokin’ Log News

May, 2013

MARK YOUR CALENDAR:  June 22, 2013 — IBCA Annual Saturday Meeting

VFW Post 8787, 500 VFW Rd., Austin, TX —  10:00 am – til   A chance as a member to have your voice heard.

It is time to start thinking about who you would like to see in the offices of Executive Director, Secretary, Treasurer and 2 Board of Directors at Large.   These are 2 year terms.  Before nominating anyone, please check with them to see if they are interested in the holding the position.    Nominations can be emailed to, put Nomination in subject line. Nominations can also be sent by snail mail to:  P.O. Box 81, Keller, TX 76244-0081.

Also, if there are any proposed rules changes that you would like to submit, please do so in writing by May 15, 2013, so we can get it out the PITs for their input. 

There will be a Board of Directors meeting at 9:00 a.m. before the General Meeting.

On April 17, 2013 West, TX was devastated with the explosion at the fertilizer plant. There were 15 deaths and over 200 injuries.  Among those deaths was Cody Dragoo, the organizer of the West Vol. Fire Dept. BBQ in March each year along with other firemen that have been involved in the event.  They will all be missed.  Please keep West in your thoughts and prayers as they recover from this tragedy.

Bryan McLarty and Operation BBQ Relief were in West for 8 days serving food from those that needed them, the volunteers and Red Cross.  During that 8 days there were approximately 16,000 meals served.

Thanks to all of the cooks that went down and volunteered the time to help make this happen.  I know that we went and it was a humbling experience.  GOOD JOB Bryan!!


Check out the new website – and let us know what you think about it.


New Memebers

Chris Vrazel, Denton, TX
Daniel Morales, Kingsville, TX
Randy VanderNaillen, Houston,
Cody Luckenbach, Corpus Christi
Phil Dehmer, Katy, TX
Ron Beasley, Corpus Christi
Richard Dawson, Hearne, TX
Richard Nelson, Joshua, TX
Cody DeLaney,St Francisville, LA
Kyle Butler, Claude, TX
Greg Gallagher, New Braunsfel
LeeRoy Sauceda, Kingsville, TX
Stacy Lawler, Huntsville, TX
Danny Evans, Conroe, TX
Butch Roecker, Robstown, TX
David Reed, Mansfield, TX
Bob Wherry, Granbury, TX
Chris Watts, Baton Rouge, LA
Edgar Franco,, Missouri City, TX
Mike Johnson, Trinity, TX
Nick Lopez, Katy, TX
Alan Schones, Elk City, OK
Micah, Gwaltney, Rosenburg, TX
Joe Marek, Itasca, TX
Ricardo Rodriquez, Orange Grove
Rene Vargas, Lubbock, TX
Matt Riklin,, Houston, TX
Shannon McBride, Victoria,, TX
Gary R Stephens, Palestine, TX
Reagan Broesche, Bertram, TX
Manuel Aquirre, Odessa, TX
Michael Wood, Pineville, LA
Christine Kuehn,, Arlington, TX